Singaporean misses first international title

20th October, Jakarta: Second-seed, Christopher Hwang missed the chance of winning the 6th Indonesia International title when he narrowly lost to eventual champion, Alex Liew of Malaysia, in the Men's Open Masters stepladder finals. hristopher Hwang, who led the Men's Open Masters first block finals with 1780, bowled consistently with lines of 200, 202, 196, 247, 210, 238 and 193 for a 16-game total of 3447 but was overhauled by top local, Ryan Lalisang to pole position by just 13 pins in the second block on Monday.

Alex Liew of Malaysia, who finished fourth with 3411, defeated fifth-seed, David Sitorus of Indonesia and teammate, Adrian Ang, 226-201-152 in the first stepladder match. Liew went on to earn a berth in the title match when he narrowly beat Hwang, 237-236 as the third-seed, Yadi of Indonesia managing only 210.

The Malaysia won his third Indonesia title after beating topseed, Ryan Lalisang, 209-189 in the deciding match after winning the first game, 226-158. Liew took home Rupiah 10 million (approx. S$15,000) for his victory.   Meanwhile, defending champion, Bernice Lim of Singapore, who was 21st in the first block, only managed to improve two places to 19th at the end of the second block. Singapore's best female performer was New Hui Fen finishing 12th while Fok Ka Wai took 20th position.

The Women's crown went to SEA Games Masters gold medalist, Sharon Limansantoso of Indonesia after she defeated second-seed and challenger, Kim Eun Jung of Korea, 200-193 in the title match.

Kim, who was seeded second after the two block Masters, had ousted overnight leader and third seed, Tannya Roumimper of Indonesia and winner of the first match, Liza Del Rosario of the Philippines, 256-210-231 to meet the champion.   The fourth seed, Filipina ended the hopes of Hong Kong's Chan Shuk Han and Malaysia's Zandra Aziela in the first match with a victory over her opponents, 225-158-208. Limansantoso won Rupiah 40 million (approx. S$6,200) for emerging as champion.

Detailed scores: Men's O Stepladder | Women's O Stepladder | Men's O 2ndBlk Masters | Women's O 2ndBlk Masters. Photos by Terence Yaw.