Two identical series for Singaporean

28th February, Doha: Dubai Open second runner-up, Remy Ong of Singapore shot identical 3-games series of 704 for a total of 1408 to take up third spot in the qualifying table of the H.H. Emir Cup 2010 on Sunday. After being denied his first title of the year when he finished as second runner-up in the Dubai International Open on Friday, Remy Ong arrive Doha to take to the lanes for his first attempt at the 1.30pm Squad 6.

The 31-year-old Singapore immediately settled down to a good momentum to fire 279, 215 and 210 for a series total of 704. But a lowly 508 in his second attempt yielded only a 24th place finish.

Despite improving slightly with 673 in Ong’s third attempt, he remained in 24th place. Ong failed to improve after knocking down 665 in the subsequent Squad 9. Determined to end the day’s qualifying on a high, Ong made his final attempt of the day in Squad 10.   A good start of 256 in his first game put him on course for a good effort but encountered a disasterous 168 in the second game. Fortunately, Ong recovered to end the squad with a superb 280 for a total of 704. Overnight leader and Day 4 high series award winner, Mansour Al-Awamy of Qatar stretched his lead with another scintilating 756 in Squad 8 for a total of 1510. Hussain Al-Suwaidi of UAE, who shot the tournament’s first 300, took second spot with 1423.

Ong occupied third position with 1408 followed by Hong Kong’s Wu Siu Hong in fourth after he improved with a Squad 10 effort of 747 and a total of 1394. Day 1 high series award winner, Khaled Al-Doseri of Qatar took fifth with 1385.

Kuwait’s Basel Al-Azni, Bahrain’s Yousif Falah and last year’s champion, Patrick Healey Jnr completed the top 8 with 1380, 1362 and 1354 respectively. The top 8 qualifiers will automatically advance to Step 2 finals.   Qualifying round will end March 2 and qualifiers in positions 9 to 24 will contest the Step 1 finals on Wednesday, March 3 joined by four Qatar youth qualifiers, four from Squads 1, 2, 3 and 4 plus four more from the desperado squad.

The field will be cut to top 8 in Step 1 finals and together with the top 8 seeded qualifiers advance into Step 2 finals.

The 16 bowlers will play 8 games from scratch and the top 8 at the end of Step 3 finals will advance to the knockout stage where the top seed will be matched with the No. 8 seed, No. 2 seed with No. 7 seed and so on for a two-game total pinfall count.

The winners of the Step 3 finals will proceed to the semifinals and thereafter the 2-game total pinfalls title match to determine this year’s champion and a top prize of 75,000 Riyal.

Detailed scores: Overall Qualifying Standings | Photo Album. Photos by Terence Yaw in Doha.