Top seed denied podium finish

4th March, Doha: Top seed, Remy Ong of Singapore was denied a podium finish after losing to Qatar’s Mansour Al-Awamy, 365-440 in the third and fourth positions playoff at the the concluding H.H. Emir Cup 2010 on Thursday.  Remy Ong, who advanced into the knockout stage of the competition in yesterday’s Step 2 finals as top seed, had a superb start in the match against No. 8 seed, Yousif Falah of Bahrain in the Step 3 finals.

The 31-year-old Singapore easily took the first game of the two-games total pinfalls match, 223-182 for a 41 pins margin. In the second game, Ong again was in scintilating form romping home another comfortable win ofer the Bahraini, 256-205 to take the match, 479-387.

In the Step 4 semi-final match against UAE’s Naif Oqab, Ong was equally impressive winning the first game, 222-201 for a 21 pins margin and looked set to make the finals. But two bad splits upset Ong’s rythmn while the Emirati went on a strike fest to take the second game, 254-175 and the match, 455-397.

Ong was forced to meet the other semi-final loser, Mansour Al-Awamy of Qatar in the third and fourth positions playoff and despite a closely fought first game in which the Singaporean lost, 201-206, Mansour was in better form taking the second game, 234-164 for a 440-365 victory.The Step 6 all-lefty title match saw No. 3 seed, Mubarak Al-Muraikhi clinching the title for the second time when he beat Naif Oqab, 449-415 despite going down 202-212 in the first game. The Qatari bounced back with a 247-203 victory to win the title and the top prize of Qatar Riyal 75,000 (approx. US$20,600).

Naif, who ousted Remy Ong to make the finals, settled for second position again to take home QTR 40,000. Naif had last week finished second to Osku Palermaa of Finland in the 1st Dubai Open.

Mansour pocketed QTR 20,000 for finishing third while Ong missed the podium to end in fourth spot and a prize of QTR 10,000. Former Qatar Bowling Federation president, Mr Salman Abdulla Al-Ghani and current president, Mr Abdul Salam presented the prizes to the winners.

Detailed scores: Step 6 Finals | Step 5 Finals | Step 4 Finals | Step 3 Finals | Photo Album.Photos by Terence Yaw in Doha.