Singaporean on a roll

20th September, Busan: Globe-trotting Remy Ong of Singapore, put in a much improved performance in the second block of qualifying round of the 13th DSD Samho Korea Cup International Open Bowling Tournament to move up from 36th to 13th position in Squad B.  Ong, the only Asian amateur competing in the prestigious tournament which featured 100 Korean pros, 11 PBA pros, 42 Japanese pros, 24 Korean women pros will bowl three blocks of 6 games qualifying block over three days ending on September 21.

Drawn in Squad B, Ong downed 1300 in his first block with lines of 203, 249, 218, 249, 172 and 209 to finish 12th in the squad and sharing 36th position after all three squads had completed their first round.

2006 Doha Asian Games Masters gold medalist and KPBA pro, Jo Nam-I topped the field of 204 bowlers with 1449 followed by JPBA pro, Koji Kawazu in second with 1441 and another Japanese pro, Toshiyuki Kaneko third with 1434.

The Singaporean took to the lanes for his second block and found the going much better reeling in lines of 206, 223, 201, 258, 233 and 235 for a series of 1356. Ong's effort gave him a 12-game total of 2656 for 13th position.

KPBA pro and overnight squad leader, Chae Jun Hee continued to lead the squad and setting a 12-game benchmark of 2768. JPBA pro, Hideaki Aizawa and another Korean pro, Kang Sung Yu finished second and third with 2760 and 2756.

In the second squad, American PBA pro and 2007-08 PBA Rookie of the Year, Rhino Page erased the bechmark set earlier with 2799 to take over the lead in the standings. Page downed 1358 to add to his first block of 1410 for the lead.

Page's compatriot, Parker Bohn III finished second in the squad with 2725 but took up eighth overall. Chae and Aizawa slipped to second and third while Kang claim fourth.

American PBA pro Tommy Jones, made the biggest jump from 64th position to fourth after shooting the highest 6-games series of 1471 in his second block.

The top 36 in the overall standings after 18 games will advance to the Top 36 finals over another 6 games. The field will then be cut to top 12, who will advance to the Round-Robin matchplay semi-finals for another 12 games.

The top 6 will qualify for the TV Finals on September 23. The champion will pocket the top prize of 30 million Korean won (approx. S$33,000) from a total prize fund of 110 million Korean won.

Detailed scores: Block 2 Squad B | Block 2 Combined | Photo Album.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Busan.