Singapore Open to kick off today

18th September, Singapore: The 40th anniversary of the ever-popular Singapore International Open Bowling Championship will kick off today at the 2004 AMF World Cup venue, the Superbowl Safra Mount Faber today through to the finals on September 29.

The open championship will see its usual rounds of qualifying formats but the finals will be staged on a specially installed pair of lanes in a new shopping mall to add spice to the grand finale.

On hand to lead Singapore's charge will be the defending champion, Lee Yu Wen, who was crowned the Men's Open Masters champion last year when he defeated Thailand's Surasak Manuwong, 197-174 in the final deciding match.

Singapore's top contender will no doubt be World Championship Singles and All Events champion, Remy Ong. Ong will be joined by other national bowlers, Carl de Vries, Derek Chan, Jason Yeong-Nathan, Justin Teng, Lionel Lim and Shaun Ng in the men's division.

In the women's division, Singles silver medalist in the recent World Women's Championship, Jazreel Tan has hit form of late and will most likely be the top contender for the women's crown. Jazreel, who is the twice national champion, also bagged the silver medal in the 2005 SEA Games Masters.

She will be joined by top veteran national keglers, Jennifer Tan, Evelyn Chan, Rena Teng, Cherie Tan, Jasmine Yeong-Nathan, and Sabrina Lim. Newly-promoted into the national ranks are Amanda Ng and Daphne Tan and the duo will sure give their seniors a run for their money.

Defending champion, Huang Chiung Yao, who will lead a strong contingent from Chinese Taipei, will surely try to retain the title she took last year defeating Filipina, Liza Clutario.

Photos courtesy of SBF.