Maiden international title for Singaporean

29th March, K.Lumpur: Two-time National champion, Jazreel Tan of Singapore won her maiden international title when she ousted defending champion, Zandra Aziela of Malaysia, 489-375 to emerge the Ladies' Open Masters champion of the Canon 31st Malaysian International Open.  Earning a bye into the third round after finishing pole in the overseas pool of the qualifying table, Jazreel Tan completed the 6-game Round 3 in pole position with 1455 ahead of Sin Li Jane of Malaysia on 1387.

Tan first ousted eighth-seed, Zatil Iman of Malaysia, 401-386 in her first hurdle to face off with teammate Jasmine Yeong-Nathan, who knocked out third-seed, Amanda Ng, 441-398 in the quarterfinals.

The Singaporean stepped up her gear to edge the teammate, Jasmine Yeong-Nathan, 485-468 in the semifinals to book her spot in the title match against defending champion, Zandra Aziela of Malaysia.

With her teammates firmly behind the pettie Singaporean, Tan took the first match, 210-172 and the Malaysian had no answer for Tan as she cruised to comfortable 279-203 to win her first-ever international title and the RM15,000 top prize.

Zandra Aziela, who disposed off fellow-countrywomen, Sin Li Jane, 471-403 just could get into gear during the match with the champion. The Malaysian was also allsome in the quarterfinals when he knocked out another teammate, Shalin Zulkifli, 481-473.

Zandra settled for second and pocketed RM7,000 while Sin Li Jane took home RM3,000. Jasmine Yeong-Nathan also picked up RM3,000 despite finishing fourth as the loosing semifinalist.


Meanwhile, Zulmazran Zulkifli of Malaysia, who had earlier finished second in Round 3 ousted Cyrus Cheung of Hong Kong, 412-373 in the quarterfinals to set up the match with Jason Yeong-Nathan of Singapore, who defeated topseed, Jayson Tubid of the Philippines, 420-391 in his quarterfinal match.

But the 2005 national champion lost to the eventual champion in the semifinals, 439-446 allowing Zulmazran to have a crack at the title. Zulmazran went on to win his first-ever home title after he beat third-seed, Mika Luoto of Finland, 438-371 in the title match.

Luoto had earlier thrashed Australia's Andrew Frawley, 495-410 in the semi before going down to the Malaysian in the finals. The Finn also thrashed UAE's Hussiain Al-Suwaidi, 537-470 in the quarterfinals earlier.

Zulmazran won the top prize of RM30,000 for his victory while Luoto settled for second to win RM15,000. Andrew Frawley, who finished third took home RM6,000, the same amount as Jason, the loosing semifinalist.

Zulmazran will lead Kelvin Keong, Daniel Lim, Zandra Aziela and Sin Li Jane as Team Malaysia in the Canon Cup 2008 against Team Rest of the World made up of Mika Luoto, Andrew Frawley, Jason Yeong-Nathan, Jazreel Tan and Jasmine Yeong Nathan in a head-to-head team matches tomorrow LIVE on Astro Supersport at 1.00pm.


Photos by B.C. Cheah, MTBC.