Good start for Singapore national bowlers

13th July, Jakarta: Singapore national bowlers made a good start at the 8th Indonesia International Open after Bernice Lim finished second in the Women's Open while Ng Tiac Pin took sixth position in the Men's qualifying table. Just only 18, Bernice Lim won the 2007 Indonesia Open at a tender age of 15. Returning to her lucky venue for this year's Indonesia Open, the national bowler had a cracking start in her qualifying round with 247.

She follwed it up with 223 in the second but dropped her pace to end with 198 and 184 to finish just 17 pins off the current leader and 2008 Ancol Open champion, Joung Myo-Boub of Korea.

Myo had lines of 194, 232, 224 and 219 for a 4-game total of 869. 2008 AMF World Cup champion, Jasmine Yeong-Nathan of Singapore, who led the standings briefly with 831 after rolling 167, 216, 224 and 224, slipped down to fourth.


Newly-crowned Macau China Open champion, Sharon Koh of Malaysia snatched third spot from Jasmine with 837. Cherie Tan posted a respectable 816 to top the mixed pool followed by reigning national champion, Fok Ka Wai in second with 810.

Other Singapore women, who will be trying to improve their scores were Gina Lim (786), Geraldine Ng (765) and Teo Li Ying (747).

Meanwhile, Ng Tiac Pin was Singapore's best performer so far taking up sixth position in the Men's Open Masters overseas pool. Ng fired 223, 247, 211 and 211 for a total of 892. Thai ex-national and Macau China Open first runnerup, Surasak Manuwong topped the table with 944.

2007 Indonesia Open champion and PBA Tour winner, Jason Belmonte of Australia finished second with 910 in only his first attempt followed by this year's ABF Tour Saudi leg champion, Wu Siu Hong of Hong Kong third with 908.

Jason Yeong-Nathan took second spot in the mixed pool with 839 while newly-crowned Macau China Open champion, Remy Ong managed only 829 for seventh position.

The 8th Indonesia International Open, which has merged together with Ancol Open, is being jointly organized by Indonesia Bowling Association and Ancol Bowl.

There will be two men defending champions (Zulmaran Zulkifli of Malaysia and George Frilingos of Australia) and two women defending champions (Tannya Roumimper of Indonesia and Shalin Zulkifli of Malaysia).

Qualifying will continue through to Thursday, July 15 and the Masters finals will be held over two blocks of 8 games on July 16 and 17. The top 16 Asian men and top 16 Asian women will also qualify for the ABF Tour Indonesia leg which will be staged on July 18.

Detailed scores: Women's Open Qualifying | Men's Open Qualifying.

Photos by Terence Yaw in Jakarta.