Gold No. 4 for Daegu

24th November, Jakarta: Triple gold medalist, Kim Young Pyo ended in style as he posted a final game of 299 to win the Men's Masters crown and Daegu's fourth gold medal in the concluding 21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championship.  All Events bronze medalist, Oh Young Gi of Uiwang was quick to grab the lead after posting 211 and 267 in his two opening matches of the 8-game round-robin second block finals and moving ahead of overnight leader, Lee Dong Hee of Pohang.

As the lanky Korean continued to take charge stretching his lead to 93 pins at the halfway mark followed by Paranaque's Purvis Granger in a distant second as Lee continued to drift down the field.

Triple gold medalist, Kim Young Pyo then fired 247, 258 and 278 in the next three games to close the gap to just 4 pins from Oh setting up a grand finale in the position round match. It was down to the wire in the deciding match as only 36 pins separated the top 3.

"It feels good to win my fourth gold and also the fourth for my city, Daegu," said the 34-year-old champion. "I have been bowling great the whole week and this is probably my best outing in a competition.

Oh Young Gi settled for the silver medal with 3528 despite loosing the final match to Kim as Granger also lost to Jakarta's David Sitorus and was unable to improve his third place finish. Granger total 3470 to win the bronze medal with Sitorus in fourth with 3446.

Singapore's Benjamin Lim could not improve on his overnight first block position and stayed in fifth with 3445 while Singles gold medalist, Mark Wong continued to struggle to end up in 16th position.

Paranaque got a consolation for taking the overall men's champion without a single gold medal and only 2 silver and 2 bronze medals. They also finished third to the overall champion, Busan. Singapore was second.

A total of 72 men and 32 women from 18 cities competed in the week-long 21st edition of the immensely popular Asian Intercity championship. Macau will be the host for next year's championship.

Detailed scores: Men's 2ndBlk Masters | Overall Medal Tally

Photos by Terence Yaw.