Filipino leads third day qualifying

26th March, Manila: 2005 SEA Games gold medalist, Markwin Tee of the Philippines topped the third day qualifying of the 5th Euro-Med Storm International Masters Challenge as foreign bowlers take to the lanesat Pearl Bowling Centre.  Tee steadily rolled 190, 268 and 243 for a 701 first series then stormed into the third day's leaderboard with 228, 226 and 248 improving by 1 pin for 702. His two series gave him 1403 and an impressive 233 average.

Just four behind Tee was 2006 Asian Championship Masters gold medalist, Wu Siu Hong of Hong Kong who downed 1399. Wu posted 713 and 686 which allowed both him and Tee to automatically qualify for the finals.

At the top of the daily qualifiers was American, Purvis Granger, who shot back-to-back perfect games on the first day and totaled 1528 from his 823 and 705 series. 2003 World Championship Trio gold medalist was the second highest on day 1 with 1362.

Filipino athlete of the century, Paeng Nepomuceno and Kim Young Pil of Korea joined the automatic daily qualifiers with 1407 and 1400 respectively after taking the top 2 positions in day 2. Topping the rest of the qualifiers were Korea's Gu Yong Gin (1451), Tim Mack of USA (1431) and Fuaad Almas (1426).

Hong Kong's Cyrus Cheung, UAE's Hussain Al Suwadi (tie-1415) and Chinese Taipei's Wang Tien Fu (1409) made up the current top 20.

Loy Ganzon's 1464 series took him to the lead of the Bevida-Storm Challenge qualifying leaderboard. Early pace-setter, Benedict Tiong, who posted 1461, dropped to second while Masa Ishizuka finished third with 1448.

Jumping into fourth is Edgar Gatchalian, who rolled games of 261, 236, 224, 218, 216, 256 for a 1435 series. Orlie Estrabo moved up to board to the fifth place with 1419 series. Jerryson Co (1405), Kathlynn Ann Lopez (1351), Dennis Ho (1347), Nilo Penado (1346) and Von Aerich Tan (1343) rounded up to the top 10 qualifiers.

The top 48 bowlers in the Euro-Med table and top 24 in the Bevida-Storm Challenge table will qualify for the Masters finals which will be contested on the March 31st and April 1st.

Detailed scores: Euro-Med Qualfiers | Bevida-Storm Qualfiers | Photo Album.

Photos courtesy of PBAP-Bolwmart.