Dutches leads two Asians into next stage

8th November, St. Petersburg: Qualifying round leader, Ghislaine van der Tol of the Netherlands led two Asians, Sharon Koh of Malaysia and Sun Hee Lee of Korea into the next stage of the 43rd QubicaAMF World Cup at the Kontinent Bowling Centre.  

As the top 24 took to the lanes for their next 8 games, Sharon Koh of Malaysia opened account with a 249 to take over the lead from overnight leader, Ghisliane van der Tol of the Netherlands with 24 pins.

But the Dutches regained the lead by 7 pins after the second game only to find herself loosing the lead to the Malaysian after a lowly 171 in her third game as Sharon posted 226. Sharon put in consistent scores to remain in the lead until the eighth and final game when Sharon only managed to knock down 192.

Ghislaine ended the block 13 pins ahead posting an 8-game score of 1692 and for a grand total of 6871. Sharon settled for second with 6858 while Korea's Sun Hee Lee moved up to third with 6842. A strong 1773 posted by Australia's Ann-Marie Putney also move her up eighth to fourth on 6801.

  Germany's Tina Hulsch posted the highest 8-game series of 1783 to leapfrog from 12th to fifth on 6770 while Aumi Guerra of Dominican Republic, Piritta Kantola of Finland and Helen Johnsson of Sweden made the cut for tomorrow's quarterfinals.

Daphne Tan's hope of further progress was dashed as the youngster only managed to finish 14th, 126 pins away from the eighth-placed Helen Johnsson of Sweden.

Four from the European zone, three from Asian zone and one from the American zone will proceed to the 8-game round-robin matchplay quarterfinals including a position round match, with 30 points for a win and 15 for a tie so there is still all to play for.

Only the top 3 will proceed to the stepladder finals in which the third-placed bowler will meet the second-placed bowler over best of 3 games. The winner will meet the top-seed over the same format to determine the champion.

  Detailed scores: Women's Top 24 | Photo Album.Photos courtesy of MTBC.