Comfortable victories for first block leaders

22nd November, Jakarta: Busan bagged their third gold medal as they cruised to a comfortable victory in the Women's Team event in the 21st Asian Intercity Bowling Championship while Daegu won their second gold in the men's division.  First block leader, Busan stretched their lead at the start of the second block Team of 4 event in the afternoon opening up with a fourth game of 831 and 179 pins margin. An Yu Ri, Park Eun Sun, Jang Jee Hyang and anchored by two gold medalist, Yoo Sung Hee went on to increase their lead to 290 after the fifth game.

The Korean quartet ended the event to win their third gold medal of the championship with 4769 total. Yoo had won the Singles on opening day and the two Busan pairs of Yoo Sung Hee-Park Eun Sun and An Yu Ri-Jang Jee Hyang finished 1-2 in the doubles on day 2.

Singapore's Geraldine Ng, Teo Li Ying, Gina Lim and Bernice Lim, who were third in the first block finished strongly to snatch the silver medal from Taipei with 4470. Taipei settled for the bronze medal with 4420.

Daegu City displayed another convincing performance to cruise to victory in the Men's Team of 4 with 5029. Doubles gold medalist, Kim Young Pyo and Park Hee Jeong partnering Kim Jong Hyun and Lee Tae Ju stretched their lead from 148 pins after the first block to 310 in the opening second block.

The quartet went on to win their second gold medal with a margin of 247 ahead of the strong finishing Uiwang, who claimed their first medal in second spot. Kong Byoung-Hee, Won Jong-Yoon, Choi Won-Young and Oh Young-Gi totaled 4782 for the silver.

Paranaque's Sandy Cotoco, Johnson Cheng, Frank Russo and Purvis Granger pipped Tamuning and Singapore to clinch the bronze medal with 4768. The three cities were only seperated by less than 3 pins at the first block.

Yoo Sung Hee claimed her fourth and second individual gold medal when she finished top of the women's All Events standings with 3778. Her teammate, Park Eun Sun gave Busan another 1-2 finish after winning the silver with 3616. Pasay's Ditas Red took the bronze with 3611.

Daegu also won their third gold when Kim Young Pyo topped the men's All Events table with 3907 with Purvis Grander settling for another silver medal, 28 pins adrift on 3879 while Uiwang's Oh Young-Gi won the bronze with 3733.

Busan is well clear in the overall medal standings with 4 gold and 2 silver medals for 27 points. Singapore is second with 1 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze medals for 14 points. Despite not having won a gold yet, overall champion, Paranaque for 4 consecutive years is third with 3 silver and 1 bronze medal on 11 points.

Although Daegu has won 3 gold medals, as a guest city they are not entitled to earn points from the medals. The top 16 men and top 16 women will contest the masters finals over two blocks of 8 games on 23rd and 24th November.

Detailed scores: Women's Team 2ndBlk | Men's Team 2ndBlk

Photos by Terence Yaw.